Growth

In the calm of the night it’s just me and you
Snuggled up in the blue hue of your nightlight

Your dad is sleeping silently next to us.
There’s not a sound in the room
Nor a care in the world
Just your muffled whimpering
Quieting as you find my warm skin with your mouth.

In the calm of the night, time ceases
Who cares what time it is
I have to be up.
Bleary eyed but needed, so needed, by you
For these minutes, hours, nothing else matters
Except growing you, my baby

I hold you tight in my arms
and stroke your downy small head
You purr like a kitten lapping its milk
Content, diligent, focused until you fall back into sated sleep

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

